Matthew Hayden - From Inspired to Inspirer


Mohun Bagan

Founded in 1889, Mohun Bagan was the first Indian club to win the IFA Shield in 1911. Since then, this Kolkata-based club has swelled greatly over 100 years of its existence. Since 2001, July 29 has been celebrated as ‘Mohun Bagan Day’ as a tribute to the 1911 triumph. They have contributed some great Indian players to Indian football like Chuni Goswami, Sailen Manna, Gostha Pal and Baichung Bhutia among others.

IFA Shield - 22

Durand Cup – 16

Federation Cup – 13

NFL – 3

League – 1

Rovers Cup – 14


East Bengal

Arch rivals to Mohun Bagan, the duo has been a part of several hotly contested Kolkata derbies. East Bengal arguably has the biggest fan base in India with over 1.3 million ‘likes’ on Facebook. It is also the only club to have remained in the top tier of the National Football League (NFL) since its formation in 1996.

IFA Shield - 28

Durand Cup – 15

Federation Cup – 8NFL – 3

Rovers Cup – 10

© Dempo Sports Club / Facebook


It is a 47-year old club based in Goa who have transformed into serious title contenders since 2000, winning six national championships in the last 11 years. They also had a golden run from 1978 to 1986 where they snared four national level trophies in the form of the now-defunct Rovers Cup.

Durand Cup – 1

Federation Cup – 1

NFL – 2

I League – 3

Rovers Cup – 4

© Salgaocar Football Club / Facebook


The Vasco-based club became the first side from Goa to win the National Football League when they became champions in 1998-99. There were also the first Goan club to be invited to participate in the Durand Cup, which they won three times.

Durand Cup – 3

Federation Cup – 4

NFL – 1

I League – 1

Rovers Cup – 3

© Meethi Mohammedan Sporting Club / Facebook

Mohammedan Sporting

Founded in 1891, this Kolkata-based club is one of the oldest clubs in the country. The current team has been the strongest since 1987 when they won their last prestigious trophy in the form of the Rovers Cup. Recently, they lifted the Durand Cup in 2013, which was followed by the IFA Shield in 2014.

IFA Shield - 6

Durand Cup – 2

Federation Cup – 1

Rovers Cup – 6

your comments